Information on the 2020 Leadership is forthcoming. Please check back at a later date. Thank you!

Applications for the 2018 LDP were due to no later than Thursday December 21, 2017 (updated date).


In 2005, the Association’s Board of Directors approved the creation of a leadership development program. The seventh iteration of this offering will occur in 2018. Part I will take place March 14-15 at the Charleston Marriott in South Carolina. Part II will take place at the Renaissance Vinoy Resort in St. Petersburg, Florida on October 8-9, immediately prior to the 2018 Annual Conference which takes place October 10-12.

Individuals who are accepted for the program also will be expected to participate in both the Spring and Fall components, as well as pay the full registration fees to attend the Annual Conference.

The program will feature outstanding guest speakers who possess significant expertise and experience in various aspects of higher education administration. The period between the Spring meeting and October will be devoted to a combination of team and individual projects. Participants will have the opportunity to pursue issues of interest while also developing personal leadership skills.

·No fewer than 10 and not more than 15 participants will be selected. Normally, no more than one person will be chosen from any single member institution.

·Eligible applicants: Priority will be given to department chairpersons/directors, associate/assistant deans, and new deans (appointed within the previous 24 months at the time of applying). Others would be considered based on space availability. Self-nominations are permissible.

·The registration fee for each participant is $1,500. Expenses for lodging, travel, and meals will be the responsibility of either the individual participant or the institution.

·Applications must be submitted electronically by the close of business on Thursday December 21, 2017 (updated date) to


Elizabeth Adams, University of South Alabama

Abiodun Akinwuntan, University of Kansas Medical Center

Rafael Bahamonde, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis

Catherine Balthazar, Governors State University

Anthony Breitbach, Saint Louis University

Konrad Dias, Maryville Univeristy Of St. Louis

Lisa Dutton, St. Catherine University

Shandra Esparza, University of the Incarnate Word

April Harkins, Marquette University

Byron Russell, Midwestern University – Arizona

Francine Seruya, Quinnipiac University

Patricia Talbert, Howard University

Stacy Walz, Arkansas State University – Jonesboro

Ericka Zimmerman, Western Carolina University

Wendy Hanks, Pacific University



Mark Blegen, St. Catherine University 

Stephen Burrows,Sacred Heart University  

Marc Campolo, University of the Sciences

Amy Darragh, The Ohio State University 

Gianluca De Leo, Augusta University 

James David Taylor, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

Carolyn Giordano, Thomas Jefferson University

Susan Gordon-Hickey, University of South Alabama 

David Henzi, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

David Hudson, Western Carolina University

Bonnie Van Lunen, Old Dominion University 



Dr. Andrew Butler, Georgia State University, Associate Dean

Dr. Elizabeth Cada, Governors State University, Dean

Dr. Colleen Croxall, Eastern Michigan University, Interim Director

Dr. David Demo, University of North Carolina at Greensboro, Associate Dean

Dr. Nancy Devine, Idaho State University, Associate Dean & Director

Dr. Donna Fry, University of Michigan – Flint, Associate Dean

Dr. Susan Long, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Associate Dean

Dr. Thomas Masterson, Jr.Central Michigan University, Associate Dean

Dr. David Miller, Springfield College, Dean & Professor

Dr. Paula Rhyner, University of Wisconsin at Milwaukee, Associate Dean

Dr. Shannon Clifford, Long Island University, Chair

Dr. Teresa Conner-Kerr, Winston Salem State University, Chair & Professor

Dr. Rosemary Hogan, University of Missouri, Chair

Dr. Bradford Schwarz, University of Kentucky, Division Director